Exclusive Interview with Moncee

Yermanagement
4 min readJun 24, 2020

What first got you into music?

What got me into music was actually when I was asked to do a verse for a song called “We The People (constitution song)” written by Sandy Wilbur, I was in 5th grade at the time and about 12 years old.

I had the chance to go out to NYC and perform for people of congress. It was a unique Opportunity, there were also 5 girls who were a big part in this song as well.. Audrey Anglum, Carrigan Boynton, Maddie Greene, & Katie Kelly. The video currently has 907 thousand views on YouTube;

There was also another song we did a few years after called “4 score and seven years ago” this time I wasn’t the only rapper Involved James Reilly was part of this. Check it all out @Sandy Wilbur on YouTube.

Who inspired you to make music?

Who inspired me to make music was most definitely Eminem, Michael Jackson, and Tupac. To me they all had/have such an unmatched passion for what they do.. And their hard work and dedication & music really speaks for itself. They do it for the love of music and to connect with their listeners, that’s something I heavily admire.

How would you describe the music that you typically create?

Well lately I’ve been writing a lot more songs that are personal. Some of my music is 90’s influenced, can be upbeat sometimes, mixed with a little early 2000’s vibe. I can do a little bit of pop and RnB from time to time as well

--

--